The end of an era, and the beginning of a new one

The day before yesterday a new happy (I hope) owner collected my trusty Prophet frame, that has carried me through 4 seasons. Here it is in one of its first guises:

One of the first proper pics I have of the Prophet One of the first proper pics I have of the Prophet

It was kitted with then widish Truvative handlebars, Avid brakes, fat Fox36 vans that later died on me, and the stock RS Pearl rear shock. The wheels were red hope pro 2 and Mavic 719:s from CRC, sturdy stuff that lasted me well. The tyres where shocking though, and soon exchanged for something that does not kill you when you least expect it. I loved it to bits, and took it to everything from mountain epics to local rides and lift assisted bike parking in Åre. This was essentially the bike a learned to ride off road properly on.

It evolved steadily over the years with new Bos forks, a custom Push built shock from the US, wider flat bars, a shorter stem, chainguide, wider rims and a King hub in the rear. In fact, I think the only remaining parts from that first 2009 build was the saddle clamp and the headset. The final incarnation took me through the Trans Provence in flying (ahem) colours.

The final, sharp Trans Provence incarnation The final, sharp Trans Provence incarnation

The successor, basically the same build but riser bars, a new seatpost and a few other odds and ends on a new-for-me 17" Orange Five frame. Longer, lower, perhaps a bit slacker and definitely meaner. 2013 will be good!

The Five that takes on the crown The Five that takes on the crown