Learning to walk again

Learning to walk again

Dave Grohl is screaming in my headphones while I spin the pedals. The bike is suspended on a trainer, and I have nothing else to think about than to keep the cranks turning. I'm dripping with sweat and it feels so good to finally be moving those legs again.

It's been about six weeks now since I took my first couple of steps without crutches. At first it was only a few meters, but progression is always the fastest when starting from zero. After a couple of weeks I could walk several hundred meters.

The newfound freedom in combination with the arrival of spring gave me a chance to get out a bit and see some views.

A beach barbecue must be the ultimate bone healing activity. It turns out I am surrounded by great people that keep me company through both good and bad times.

It is also that time of the year when sunsets are awesome. Soon the sun won't set again until autumn.

Just from my doorstep.

Out by the ocean.

These last couple of weeks I have been out on a few short road rides, and it actually does not feel too bad. The knee is still weak, but I can feel it getting stronger every day. Next x-ray on Thursday, if I am lucky the bone will be strong enough for trail riding, and I can start building muscles the fun way.

Let's hope I'm a lucky duck!