Just another dusty day...done and dusted

Just a few days until the guests arrive, I can't wait. On the other hand, I have to learn a bunch of trails and get my act together. I also need to get my newly built bike properly sorted, so this morning was spent truing wheels among other things.

Straightening out a wheel and trying to learn a map Straightening out a wheel and trying to learn a map

Yesterday we did my first proper ride since I came here, nice to finally put tires on dirt. Some of the trails needed a bit of work, but now they are in prime condition, fast, loose and very very dusty.

Clearing a trail from a bunch of thorny bushes Clearing a trail from a bunch of thorny bushes

Most bushes here have thorns. Some of them small and hooked so they stick to everything, and some of them are long, straight and can go straight through a tire casing. All of them are very very sharp. One of these days I might make a thorn collage for you, how about that?

Anyways, one of the best parts of being in Spain is that there is tapas, to everything! Even coke.

Tapas, coke, rest, shade. Add hashtags at will Tapas, coke, rest, shade. Add hashtags at will

Most climbs were tarmac or gravel, which is nice and efficient compared to what I'm used to. Just sit down and spin away, and before you know it you are up there.

Resting in the dust, taking in the view before the descent starts Resting in the dust, taking in the view before the descent starts.

Now all I need to do is learn all the trails, get a new pair of shoes to replace my disintegrating freeriders, find spares for the silly straightpull spokes in my rear wheel, get rid of my cold that has been pestering me for days, learn Spanish and possibly change my now rather worn front tire (or maybe the side knobs are supposed to fall off?). Sounds all doable, right?