Hk bike park, back from the ashes

The lift in Örnsköldsvik is up and running again, after a year of down time for unclear reasons related to the lift company. I jumped at the opportunity and packed myself and the AM bike in the car. On the way I picked up Maria and off we went.

Höga Kusten bike park is a real gem with a multitude of tracks to suit everyone from the kids on hard tail dirt jump bikes to the fully kitted, toilet seat around the neck wearing racerboys. And everything is built by a few guys who just like to ride, no profit whatsoever. Big props Lars, Martin and all other Övik diggers and riders!

Maria coming down to the lift after the last lap of the park Maria coming down to the lift after the last lap of the park

Unfortunately my Dh bike is still getting a new rear brake mount, but I need to spend time on the AM bike going down hills before the Trans Provence, so it might be just as well. I also got to try out my T-P tyre setup, Conti Baron 2,3. A day is in no way enough to have conclusive opinions, especially not if that day happens to be dry, but the initial impressions are very positive. Good grip and nice behaviour on the edge of drifting, but still ok rolling resistance and weight.

Hk bike park is where I "grew up" as a rider, starting with my hardtail and open face lid. I also did my first dh race here back in -08, still on the hardtail. The tracks are littered with places where I have crashed, had near death experiences or just plain got scared, adding another dimension to the riding.

Me in a wet race in 2010, snapped by Mikael Voss and stolen from hkbikepark.se Me in a wet race in 2010, snapped by Mikael Voss and stolen from hkbikepark.se

It was a brilliant day in the park with dry tracks and some fresh loam to harvest, the Övik guys have done excellent work on the tracks recently keeping them in excellent shape. As usual in Övik everyone is friendly, and there is always a smile, a laugh or some guiding to be had. Thanks for building such a great wee park guys, hope to see you all again soon!