Dry and hard

Riding this weekend was wet and dirty. Semi-frozen mud makes for slow rolling and mucky bikes and riders. Still fun though.

In gear related news, I finally got my nice green Raceface N/W chainring, and first impressions are that it seems to work, just like people say. I now have no chain guide whatsoever on the small bike, just the bash guard and a Zee RD, and I have yet to drop a chain. Pootling around on slow Umeå trails for a weekend is far from a conclusive test, but it might serve as a good indication.

Conditions today were great, finally the cold has settled enough for the trails to freeze, and by some magic spell they also seem to have dried out fairly well. Ice is no problem, grip is good and rolling is fast, happy days!

Grippy, bumpy and fast Grippy, bumpy and fast

I can't believe my cell phone could take this photo, lucky strike I guess I can't believe my cell phone could take this photo, lucky strike I guess

First track in the rime on the Umeå DH dropoff, good fun First track in the rime on the Umeå DH dropoff, good fun